state inspection / tune

Go down

state inspection / tune

Post by 345PAHemi on Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:10 pm

hey guys, i took my car for service friday to put new wheels on and got oil/lube, etc...and was time for my inspection. forgot about and told shop to go ahead and do it. i got a call form one of the techs that they needed me to run the car over weekend. apprently, they put my stock tune back on to run thru inspection. i never had codes before, but driving home from e-town my engine lite came on....and this is on my stcok tune. the only the i thought of was that the hhp hi-flow cats may be triggering an o2 issue....anyone have any issues with inspections with tune & hi-flow cats?
avatar
345PAHemi

Posts : 315
Join date : 2011-03-26
Location : Willow Grove, PA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: state inspection / tune

Post by 345PAHemi on Mon Mar 28, 2011 6:48 pm

I spoke with Josh at HHP and since i do have the level 2 tune, it has the rear o2 sensors turned off. he did tell me that i should have returned it to the modified original backup (stock tune) and ran the car for about 50 miles and then do 1 cold start. only thing was going up to englishtown everything was okay, and proabbly would have had no issues if inspected right after. but seems the ride was longer to & from and engine light kicked on afterwards. so, its in the shop now and theyre trying to tune to pass inspection.
avatar
345PAHemi

Posts : 315
Join date : 2011-03-26
Location : Willow Grove, PA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: state inspection / tune

Post by claude9039u on Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:58 pm

Tune to pass inspection? If you are running high flow cats the car will never pass inspection! Sorry but its time you do the Excempted inspection or they will have ti runa another car thur the test! But this guys should no that? If you need help getting inspected let me know I can send you somewhere in philly,
avatar
claude9039u

Posts : 198
Join date : 2011-02-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: state inspection / tune

Post by MoparJ on Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:04 pm

My SRT8 would throw a check engine light with my high flow magnaflows if the rear 02's weren't turned off. Chances are it is the high flows. I had to put the stock midpipe back on the car to pass emissions.

_________________
2014 RAM 1500 Black Express Edition - STOCK
avatar
MoparJ

Posts : 294
Join date : 2011-02-20
Age : 36
Location : Chester County, PA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: state inspection / tune

Post by 345PAHemi on Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:47 pm

thx guys for the input...unfortunately dont have the old mids....and the being that its daily driver i dont think i can get exception. for exception what are the rules?

i did have hi-flow cats on my old '00 monte ss and they would trigger the O2...but this shop was same shop that did all my work and they tinkered to get the monte to pass several years. so i hope it ends well. but, claude, i'll let u know if i need help from another shop.... anyone have mids i can boorw? Evil or Very Mad
avatar
345PAHemi

Posts : 315
Join date : 2011-03-26
Location : Willow Grove, PA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: state inspection / tune

Post by sinistr on Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:18 pm

You can use extenders or spark plug non foulers to move the O2s out so they don't throw a code. I've had them on for years without a code. If you need stock mids to get you through emissions I have a set you can borrow.
avatar
sinistr

Posts : 215
Join date : 2011-02-23
Location : NE Philly

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: state inspection / tune

Post by MoparJ on Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:50 am

sinistr wrote:You can use extenders or spark plug non foulers to move the O2s out so they don't throw a code. I've had them on for years without a code. If you need stock mids to get you through emissions I have a set you can borrow.

I could never get the spark plug non foulers to work on my 300. I'll have to consult you if I ever swap out my stock cats!

_________________
2014 RAM 1500 Black Express Edition - STOCK
avatar
MoparJ

Posts : 294
Join date : 2011-02-20
Age : 36
Location : Chester County, PA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: state inspection / tune

Post by claude9039u on Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:33 pm

When you want an inspection just let me know and I will send you to juan for real inspection stickers that will be placed in Penndot computer right in front you so. Don't ask anymore questions just call.
avatar
claude9039u

Posts : 198
Join date : 2011-02-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: state inspection / tune

Post by 345PAHemi on Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:14 pm

thanks guys for the help! i'll call & let u know.
avatar
345PAHemi

Posts : 315
Join date : 2011-03-26
Location : Willow Grove, PA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: state inspection / tune

Post by 345PAHemi on Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:33 pm

got it to pass emmissions. getting car back today.
avatar
345PAHemi

Posts : 315
Join date : 2011-03-26
Location : Willow Grove, PA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: state inspection / tune

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum